HOMEWORK “faking it”

 

“Faking It”

The exhibition at the Metropolitan museum “Faking It” before photoshop was very interesting. If it wasn’t for the title i would have never known the pictures were manipulated without the use of photoshop. My Favorite of them all was Man on rooftop with 11 men in formation on his shoulders by George Eastman house in 1930. The reason this photograph caught my eye is because I found this one the most unbelievable, how could they have possibly done this without photoshop? With this picture i was thinking long and hard and I still have no idea how it was accomplished. I also loved the compisition of the photo. The dark blacks against the low grey tones in the backgroud make the picture really work, also that the one man is dead in the center of the roof makes it even more interesting because of how impossible it would be to balance all of those men on his shoulders. Certain photographs in the exhibit were obvious that it was manipulated such as this one while others looked normal such as the photograph with the clouds. If I were to do this photo in photoshop today it would be pretty easy. I would take pictues of 11 different men and mask them out, after masking I would rotate the men to form a circle once the men are placed i would put in a background.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment